How I got 6 sales for free in 38 days

The secret is directories

I launched my first project AiPetAvatar.com on January 18th.

It was built in a week for $97 with no-code tools and an Upwork freelancer.

In 38 days, I got 934 visitors and 6 sales with minimal effort.

Here’s how that happened:

A breakdown of the traffic & sales

Dissecting the traffic sources

Prior to launching your product, you need to set up a free Google Analytics account. Nearly all tools integrate with it and it makes tracking data so much easier.

Below you can see exactly where my traffic came from.

The secret? Directories.

After launching on Producthunt (an absolute must), these directories added me in a matter of days.

Since, 25 people find their way onto AiPetAvatar.com every day.

Most traffic comes from these directories

How I’m planning to optimize

I’m currently averaging 1 sale every 6 days, based on traffic.
Not great, not terrible.

So I need to optimize. Here are my first ideas:

  1. Run discounts

  2. Optimize the form

  3. Drive more traffic

Let’s break those down:

1. Run discounts

Running continuous discounts is a thing.
Websites like ultimate-guitar.com have discounts pretty much every day.

They definitely feel a little shady.
But they shouldn’t do it if it didn’t work… right?

So perhaps I need to try this neuro-marketing trick to instill some FOMO in my visitors.

Here I found +175 pet-related (and mostly bullshit) holidays to celebrate.

“National Drink Wine with Your Cat Week”

I mean …

2. Optimize the form

About 65% of users who go through the trouble of completing the form, don’t complete the payment.

I don’t think this is a terrible ratio, but perhaps I can optimize it more.

This neat little trick I’ve implemented from the start:
Change your button text from ‘continue’ to this to indicate where they’re at.

Clever huh?

3. Drive more traffic

Here was my marketing plan:

  1. Launch on Producthunt

  2. Send it to press contacts

  3. Share it on my socials

The first one did great, but most press contacts didn’t respond and no one has done anything with it so far.

So what else can I do to generate traffic?

  • Find more directories and contact them

  • Generate avatars of pets of influencers and get them to share it

  • Make 10 creative TikToks

Remember, directories

I’m curious to see in the next few months how this project develops.
I’ll keep you posted.

But remember: directories are where it’s at.
Find them, list your stuff, and get free traffic!

Cheers,

Carlo

Enjoyed this newsletter? Please forward it to a pal. It only takes 5 seconds. Writing this took me over 5 hours.