I challenge you to start 12 startups

The formula for success

If you’re in this space of solopreneurship, hustling, building, etc… you have probably heard of Pieter Levels - @levelsio.

But have you heard how he got his big break?

12 Startups in 12 months

Back in 2014, he posted that he was challenging himself to start 12 new projects in a year. He identified 2 issues he had with himself:

  • Problem 1: Finishing projects

  • Problem 2: Launching projects

Then he wrote:

Like so many, I’ve suffered from these problems for years. These two problems are killing good ideas. I’ve seen it happen with myself and as much with others.

So I’ve decided to take things into my own hands. I want to change my habits and force myself to finish what I start. For the next 12 months, I’m launching one startup every month. This includes picking an idea, developing it and launching it to press.

Pieter Levels

He quit after 7 projects

He didn’t just quit though, he struck gold.

His 3rd idea was gofuckingdoit.com and it went viral. He started making a few hundred dollars every month from it, providing him with a source of income.

But more importantly, this got the attention of the press.

His 4th project started with a spreadsheet with information on cities he lived in. He accidentally forgot to set the editing right so the next morning people had added locations.

Pieter then turned it into the famous nomadlist.com, which quickly generated +$25k a month and later +$1m a year.

So what’s the point?

In a keynote on his YouTube channel from 5 years ago, he mentioned that he felt depressed. His father told him that he should order 1 cubic meter of sand (it’s a lot) and start shoveling it into a new pile.

The idea is that just by doing something, you’ll feel better.

That’s the exact approach Pieter took. He just aimed for doing something, over nothing. With great execution and some luck, it worked out.

I make no promises

Ship more

To this day, Pieter believes in this message.

I’ll leave you with his pinned tweet to serve as inspiration:

To be honest, I’m trying this exact approach this year and this newsletter is my 2nd project.

Do you accept the challenge?
Keep me up to date.

Cheers,

Carlo

Enjoyed this newsletter? Please forward it to a pal. It only takes 5 seconds. Writing this took me over 5 hours.